Timmins business superheroes celebrated at 2016 Nova Awards

Date ArticleType
5/20/2016 Press Release

The superheroes of Timmins business were on full display at the McIntyre Arena on May 19 as a record-breaking 700 people came out to celebrate the 2016 Nova Business Excellence Awards.

Hosted by the Timmins Chamber of Commerce for its 14th consecutive year, the sold-out gala event saw 16 awards given to local firms and entrepreneurs across a range of categories.

These festivities were decked out with this year’s theme of the “superheroes of business”, in honour of the feats Timmins entrepreneurs perform every day, according to Timmins Chamber President Kurt Bigeau.

“They may not be leaping buildings with a single bound, but it’s clear from tonight’s award recipients that Timmins business owners and entrepreneurs are achieving amazing things,” said Bigeau.
“These are our own superheroes, as their business bravado and professional powers help to make Timmins a better place to live, work and play. We’re thrilled to be able to shine a spotlight on their talents.”

The ceremony was overseen by first-time emcee Dan Ayotte, a Chamber board member, and president of Paul Ayotte Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Ayotte helped to highlight the slate of more than 40 finalists that were honoured throughout the evening. This recognition helps to showcase the talent for which local businesses are known around the world, according to Bigeau.

"As always, the Nova Awards are an important reminder of the passion and tenacity at the heart of Timmins' business community. Tonight's finalists and recipients demonstrate that our business leaders are clearly in a class of their own – the League of Extraordinary Entrepreneurs, you could say.”

The recipients of the 2016 Nova Awards were carefully selected from 147 nominations – another record – by a committee of six independent community judges. As every year, the judges determine the award recipients based on the quality of the submissions. This is done without any input, influence or oversight from the Chamber Board of Directors or staff, thereby ensuring the validity of the process and the results.

A photo gallery of the 2016 Nova Awards, spanning the finalists’ reception to the awards ceremony and post-event celebration, will be available at the Chamber’s Facebook page at


The recipients of the 2016 Nova Awards, and those who accepted on their behalf:

Northern College Service Excellence Award
Sponsored by Northern College

Coffee Warehouse
Not in attendance

RBC Marketing Award
Sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Timmins Gracie Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai Academy

Kris Ratte, owner

NorthernTel Productivity, Innovation & Diversification Award
Sponsored by NorthernTel

Narrative Interiors

Chantal Magny, owner

De Beers Canada Aboriginal
Partnership Award

Sponsored by De Beers Canada

Moose Cree Group of Companies Limited Partnership

Derek Chum, president and Rick Poulin, CEO

City of Timmins Non-Profit
Organization Award

Sponsored by City of Timmins

Timmins & District Humane Society

Alicia Santamaria, manager

Collège Boréal Young Entrepreneur
(Under 40) Award

Sponsored by Collège Boréal

Dr. Karine Briand, owner

Family Eye Care

Caisse Populaire de Timmins New Business (Under 2 Years) Award
Sponsored by
Caisse Populaire de Timmins

Radical Gardens

Brianna Humphrey, owner

BMT Insurance & Financial Services
Business Contribution to the Community
(1-5 Employees) Award

Sponsored by BMT Insurance &
Financial Services

 Logikal Code       

Jason Perratt, owner


The Venture Centre Business Contribution to the Community (6-20 Employees) Award
Sponsored by the Venture Centre

  Expertech Auto Inc.

  Dan Bruneau, owner

Eastlink Business Contribution to the
Community (21+ Employees) Award
Sponsored by Eastlink

Timmins Building Supplies

Roman Romaniuk, Stéphane Coté and Pascal Morin, co-owners

FNETB Best Place to Work Award
Sponsored by Far Northeast Training Board

Allstate Insurance

Scott Jeanveau, director

TD Bank Group Business of the Year
(1-5 Employees) Award

Sponsored by TD Bank Group


Dan Daoust, president

Scotiabank Business of the Year
(6-20 Employees) Award

Sponsored by Scotiabank

Dabrowski's Smoked Meats Ltd.

Marc Durepos, president

Northern Credit Union Business of the Year (21+ Employees) Award
Sponsored by Northern Credit Union Limited

Northern Industrial Services Group Inc.

Michael Perello, COO

National Bank Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by National Bank

Porcupine Advance Printers

John Lake, sales

President’s Award
Sponsored by
the Timmins Chamber of Commerce

Kidd Operations

Zach Mayer, manager, Mine Technical Services


For more information contact:  
Nick Stewart
Manager of Policy, Research and Communications
Timmins Chamber of Commerce
policy@timminschamber.on.ca | (705) 360-1900

About the Timmins Chamber of Commerce
With more than 700 members, the Timmins Chamber of Commerce is one of the largest accredited chambers of commerce with distinction in northeastern Ontario. As the “Voice of Business in Timmins” since 1949, our advocacy and policy initiatives focus on ensuring a positive business climate in the City of Timmins.