Timmins Chamber announces 2013 Nova Awards recipients

Date ArticleType
4/11/2013 Press Release

TIMMINS – Timmins’ entrepreneurial spirit was on full display at the 2013 Nova Business Excellence Awards, as 600 people packed the McIntyre Arena on April 11 to celebrate the region’s most important businesses and organizations.

Hosted by the Timmins Chamber of Commerce for the 11th consecutive year, the sold-out event once again served to highlight the best of local business. Sixteen awards were handed out across a range of categories at the event, which was emceed by Chamber President Art Pultz.

This year’s notable recipients are a sign of the community’s talent and ingenuity, according to Gary Marriott and Joel Bergeron, co-chairs of the Nova Awards’ organizing committee.

“This year’s slate of awards nominees and recipients really are in a class all their own,” said Marriott.
“They stand as a perfect example of why Timmins has built a global reputation as a centre for entrepreneurial excellence. Tonight’s recipients represent some of the best of the best, and it’s terrific that we’re able to recognize their achievements on such a grand scale.”

This perspective also helped to transform the McIntyre Arena for the evening’s gala celebration, which was based on the event’s theme of “We Are the World” in recognition of the export of Timmins products, knowledge and expertise across the globe. Images of local contributions to international projects were used as decor throughout the venue, which served to promote further conversation among attendees during the post-awards celebration.

“Timmins is renowned for its business talents, and when we talk about the wealth of resources in our region, we need to remember that also includes the amazing people we have here,” said Bergeron. “We sometimes lose sight of the full impact they have beyond our backyard, and we’re glad to have been able to have made that the focus of this important event.”

The recipients of the 2013 Nova Awards were carefully selected from more than 90 nominations by a committee of six independent community judges. As every year, the judges determine the 16 award recipients without any input, influence or oversight from the Chamber Board of Directors or staff, thereby ensuring the validity of the process and the results.

“For the last 11 years, the Nova Awards have been about showcasing Timmins businesses, and it’s a tradition we’re proud to have so successfully continued once again this year,” said Pultz. “The many award recipients and nominees really do represent some of the best of what we as a community have to offer, and we’re glad so many people have come out to help celebrate them.”

A gallery of photographs from the 2013 Nova Awards, spanning the finalists’ reception to the awards ceremony to the post-event celebration, will be made available on the Chamber’s Facebook page on April 12 at www.facebook.com/TimminsChamber  

     The recipients of the 2013 Nova Awards, and those who accepted them, were:

BMT Insurance & Financial Services
Business Contribution to the Community
(1-30 Employees)
Sponsored by BMT Insurance &
Financial Services

Timmins Honda
Ryan Taylor, owner
and general manager

Business Contribution to the Community (Over 31+ Employees)
Sponsored by
Porcupine Gold Mines –
Goldcorp Canada Inc.

Panels and Pipes Inc.
Jean-Paul Legault, owner

Service Excellence Award
Sponsored by Northern College

J&B Cycle & Marine Co. Ltd.
Rob Racine, owner

New Business (Under 2 Years)
Sponsored by
Timmins Economic Development Corp. / Business Enterprise Centre

Neo Laser Tag Inc.
Dan Daoust, owner

Marketing Innovation Achievement Sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

Guiho Saw Sales & Marine Ltd.
Clint Chartrand, sales manager
and dealer principal

Young Entrepreneur (Under 30)
Sponsored by The Venture Centre /
Le Centre de développement

Bodhi Tree Hot Yoga Studio
Jenny Wong, owner

CTV Television Business of the Year
(1-5 Employees)
Sponsored by CTV Television

Great White Electrical Services
Jeremy Wilson, owner

Scotiabank Business of the Year
(6-49 Employees)
Sponsored by Scotiabank

Pick of the Crop

Business of the Year (50+ Employees) Sponsored by Northern Credit Union

Imerys Talc
Mike Francoeur,
Canadian operations manager

Non-Profit Organization Award
Sponsored by The City of Timmins

Downtown Timmins BIA
Noella Rinaldo, executive director

Environmental Excellence Award
Sponsored by Union Gas

Porcupine Gold Mines
– Goldcorp Canada
Laszlo Gotz, environmental manager

De Beers Canada
Aboriginal Partnership Award
Sponsored by De Beers Canada – Victor Mine

Detour Gold Corporation
Rachel Pineault, vice-president, human resources and northern affairs

NorFab Metal and Machine
Best Place to Work Award
Sponsored by NorFab Metal and Machine

Logikal Code Inc.
Jason Perratt, owner

Apprenticeship Award
Sponsored by
Timmins Construction Association

Gorf Manufacturing/Contracting Ltd.

Mark Norkum Jr., general manager

NorthernTel Technology Award
Sponsored by NorthernTel

Haasen Farms Limited
Frank Haasen, owner

President’s Award
Sponsored by
Timmins Chamber of Commerce

Xstrata Copper Kidd Operations
Luc Brousseau,
human resources manager


About the Timmins Chamber of Commerce
With over 800 members, the Timmins Chamber of Commerce is one of the largest accredited chambers of commerce with distinction in northeastern Ontario. As the “Voice of Business in Timmins” since 1949, our advocacy and policy initiatives focus on ensuring a positive business climate in the City of Timmins.

Nick Stewart
Policy and Communications Director
Timmins Chamber of Commerce
(705) 360-1900