Timmins Chamber of Commerce announces 2014-2015 Board of Directors

Date ArticleType
7/22/2014 Press Release

Timmins, July 18, 2014—With all the ballots counted, the members of the Timmins Chamber of Commerce have officially elected six new individuals to represent them at the heart of city’s largest business organization.           

Coming from a range of business sectors and backgrounds, these six will now sit on the Chamber’s 21-member board, providing direction and guidance to its policy, advocacy and programs on behalf of its 700-plus members.

“The expertise and experience of this year’s Board of Directors is impressive, and I look forward to working closely with them when the new Chamber year launches this fall,” said Al Thorne, chief forester for Tembec in Ontario, and incoming 2014-2015 Chamber president.
“The members of the Timmins Chamber of Commerce will be well served by these additions to the Board, which will continue working to ensure that Timmins is a great place to do business.” 

The new additions to the Board include Eleanor Baccega, lawyer with the Riopelle Group Professional Corporation; Patricia Buttineau, coordinator of communications and corporate responsibility with Goldcorp - Porcupine Gold Mines; Jamie Clarke, owner of Tisdale Plumbing and Heating Ltd.; John Crescenzi, general manager of Holiday Inn Express & Suites; and Val Venneri, general manager of James Toyota.

Having served on the board last year, Lake Shore Gold Corp. Purchasing Manager John Labine was also re-elected to return on the 2014-15 board.

They will be officially sworn in during the Chamber’s Annual General Meeting, due to be held at the Days Inn Timmins on Sept. 17, 2014.

Electronic and print ballots were sent out to each of the Chamber’s 1,200+ eligible voting members, who had one month to place their vote for their board representation.  Each board member serves a two-year term, after which they can apply for re-election, for a maximum of three terms.

The following is the complete list of the Timmins Chamber of Commerce’s 2014-2015 Board of Directors:



Alan Thorne


1st Vice-President


Kurt Bigeau

Northern Lights Financial Solutions Inc., a subsidiary of Sun Life Financial

Past President


Phil Barton

Lucid Networks



Ginette Nakashoji

Fuller Jenks Landau

Board Members


Eleanor Baccega

Riopelle Group Professional Corporation

Christine Bender

Northern College

Gilles Blouin


Patricia Buttineau

Goldcorp - Porcupine Gold Mines

Jamie Clarke

Tisdale Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

Nancy Cooper

Evans, Bragagnolo & Sullivan LLP Barristers and Solicitors

John Crescenzi

Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Claude J. Gagnon

Claude J. Gagnon Professional Photography

Larry Gubbels

Wyatt Image Solutions Inc.

Frank Haasen

Haasen Farms

Jessica Hardy

Allstate Insurance

Robert Knox

Tim Hortons

John Labine

Lake Shore Gold Corp.

Jason Laneville

CTV Television

Nancy Mageau

Royal Bank of Canada

Roland Magnan


Mike Metatawabin

Five Nations Energy

Val Venneri

James Toyota


About the Timmins Chamber of Commerce

With over 700 members, the Timmins Chamber of Commerce is one of the largest accredited chambers of commerce with distinction in northeastern Ontario. As the “Voice of Business in Timmins” since 1949, our advocacy and policy initiatives focus on ensuring a positive business climate in the City of Timmins.



Media contact:

Keitha Robson
Chief Administrative Officer  
Timmins Chamber of Commerce
(705) 360-1900